top of page

2015 Toy & Game Innovation Awards

The TAGIEs are an elegant and playful evening gala that brings together industry leaders from inventors to manufacturers to retailers as well as the public for a celebratory evening of innovators and inventors from around the world.

The Toy & Game Innovation Awards are voted on by industry experts, retailers and consumers to recognize recipients for excellence in various categories. The TAGIEs also recognize the teams the inventors worked with at the companies that brought their ideas to life. This collaboration and inventiveness has resulted in the most fun and entertaining play products on the market today. We also honor to those inventor greats who stand out in the toy industry for their exceptionally innovative spirit of fun, philanthropy, and humanitarianism.

2015 TAGIEs Stage

Thank You to Our Sponsors! 

Jim Wyatt

Past TAGIEs Nominee

Real FX, UK

2015 Highlights!

Dan Klitsner, 2015 Keynote Speaker

2015 TAGIEs Winners

Mark Boudreaux


Toy Innovator 2015

Laurie Peterson

Build & Imagine 

Rising Star 2015

Elan Lee, Matthew Inman & Shane Small

Game Innovator 2015

Invented Exploding Kittens

Invented Malia’s Beach House

Invented the Millenium Falcon

Duncan and Hayden

Co-Founders Two Bros Bows

Young Inventor 2015

Adam Wilson, Ian Bernstein

Co-Founders of Sphero

Digital Toy or Game 2015

2015 Keynote and TAGIEs Honorees

Invented Two Bros Bows

Dan Klitsner

Founder, KID Group


Richard Knerr & Spud Meline of WHAM-O

In Memoriam

Richard J. Maddocks

Lifetime Achievement Award

Music provided by Skip Towne and the Grehounds, Chicago's #1 Blues Band! The band's music is hard-driving, heartfelt, classic blues, jazz, swing, ballads, and downright good time Rockin’ Blues.

8th Annual TAGIE Awards (2015)


Tim Walsh

Introduction to Keynote:

Phil Sage, Hasbro


Dan Klitsner

2015 Recipient for Excellence in Toy Design

Winner: Mark Boudreaux, Hasbro

Presenter: Elan Lee, Exploding Kittens


Lucie Follett, Stargazer Lottie

Hasbro Design Team in collaboration with Furby inventors Richard Levy, Caleb Chung, and Richard Hampton, Furbacca

David Small and Paul Rago, Legendary Yoda

Jacqui Tobias, Shopkins


2015 RecipientExcellence in Game Design

Winner: Elan Lee, Matthew Inman & Shane Small, Exploding Kittens

Presenter: Leslie Scott, Oxford Games


Don Reid, Bellz Magnetic Game

Inka and Markus Brand, Buggaloop

Roberto Fraga, Spinderella

Jim Keifer, All In, Rotten Apples and more


2015 Recipient for Digital Toy or Game Innovation  

Adam Wilson and Ian Bernstein, Sphero, BB-8

Presenter: Tamara Stewart, Moose Toys


Andres Garza, Meccano MeccaNoid

Isaac Squires and Carly Gloge, Smart Toy

Jim Wyatt, Real FX

Afsoun R. Yazdian, Disney Playmation


2015 Recipient for Rising Star Designer

Winner: Laurie Peterson, Build & Imagine, Malia’s Beach House,

Pet Portrait Studio and more

Presenter: Larry Roznai, Mayfair Games


Scott Baumann, Squiqz

Jeff and Mindy Glickman, Woo!, Outnumbered and more

Alex Seidband, Rush Hour Shift, Connect 4 Twist & Turn 

Tristan Williams, Ben Drummond and Dean Tempest, Dinkee Linkee


2015 Recipient for Young Inventor

Winner: Duncan and Hayden, Two Bros Bows


Julie Blake, ChiTAG Young Inventor Challenge and Ben Dermer of Spin Master


Shubham Banerjee, Braigo Braille Printer

Katlyn Chiles, State the Picture

Tre and Dominic LoBraco, Noochie Golf

2015 RecipientIn Memoriam  

Richard Knerr & Spud Meline

Presenter: Bob Moog, University Games

Accepting: Chuck Knerr

2015 Honoree for Hassenfeld Humanitarian Award

Sponsored by Hassenfeld Family Initiatives

Big Brothers Big Sisters Metropolitan Chicago

Presenting: Bruce Lund, Lund and Company Invention

Accepting: Art Mollenhauer, Big Brothers Big Sisters


2015 Honoree for Lifetime Achievement

Richard J. Maddocks

Presenter: Leif Askeland, Hasbro

Accepting: Richard Maddocks

bottom of page